In this article, you will discover:
You can recover damages in New Jersey premises liability cases. Whether you do or how much you do, depends on the level of negligence the court deems you responsible. This is called comparative negligence. New Jersey made it the law about 50 years ago. Prior to this, the state used contributory negligence.
Under New Jersey comparative negligence, so long as you are 50% or less negligent in the incident, you are awarded the amount of the total award that corresponds to the percentage the court deems you are responsible. So, for example, in a case where the award is $100,000, and you are found 40% negligent, you would receive $60,000.
We tend to look for two basic things when assessing the viability of a premises liability case.
Beyond this, many bad cases violate the common sense rule. A jury is a group of people at the end of the day. If you think a situation does not hold water, there is a good chance a jury would think the same. However, this article is not legal advice specific to you. As such, it is best to consult a lawyer before writing off your potential premises liability case. Certain laws or exceptions could apply to it that you are unaware of.
With the guidance of a skilled attorney for Premises Liability Cases, you can have the peace of mind that comes with knowing that we’ll make it look easy.
For more information on Premises Liability Cases in New Jersey, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling 973.204.6573 today.